Multiverse, 2016

A performance, a music collection and a museum of plastic.

Multiverse began as a record collection, vinyl organized by colour. You can find all the colours of the rainbow, especially in the house and punk sections. With these exotic colours in hand, I physically organized the records. From this colour palette emerged not only a soundtrack, but also an investigation into “spinning”. Or better: spinning until you’re off balance.

A record is pressed and has a groove that the needle follows. A constellation of record players that are simultaneously playing can be seen as the gears of a mechanism. As the gears of a transforming machine turns, there arises the question whether it wants to be steered or exists of coincidences. The performer operates it but escapes routine. He must provide the necessary precision, but the process always goes a little differently than planned. He is excited by the interplay in this mechanism. His arrangements of music and objects are the fervent attempt to escape. Away from the reciprocity of the circle, freed from being the operator of a plastic creation.

Circular mechanisms gradually creates a form of circular thinking. Multiverse wants to be an answer to these circular constructions. A mechanical and reciprocal pattern is a systematic construction we often rest on. Multiverse has the ambition to escape from these reciprocal paths of the imagination. It provides an answer that has an imaginary and retro-cosmic aesthetic.

Production: Campo
Dramaturgy: Dries Douibi
Advice: Matias Daporta
Light and sound: Bart Huybrechts
Technical support: Simon Van den Abeele
Thank you: Oneka von Schrader, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek & Vooruit

nl /en/fr

Multiverse, 2016

Une performance, une collection de musique et un musée de plastique.

Multiverse a commencé comme une collection de disques vinyles, organisée par couleurs. Vous pouvez trouver toutes les couleurs de l’arc-en-ciel, en particulier dans les sections house et punk. Avec en main toutes ces couleurs exotiques j’ai physiquement organisé les disques. De cette palette de couleurs est apparue non seulement une bande sonore, mais aussi une enquête sur « ce qui tourne ». Ou mieux: tourner jusqu’à en être déséquilibré.

Un disque est pressé et a une rainure que l’aiguille suit. Une constellation de tourne-disques qui jouent simultanément peut être considérée comme l’engrenage d’un mécanisme. Au fur et à mesure que tournent les rouages d’une machine en transformation se pose la question de savoir si elle veut être dirigée ou si elle existe de coïncidences. L’interprète l’exploite mais échappe aux routines. Il doit fournir la précision nécessaire, mais le processus va toujours un peu différemment que prévu. Il est excité par l’interaction dans ce mécanisme. Ses arrangements de musique et d’objets sont la tentative fervente de s’échapper. Loin de la réciprocité du cercle, libéré d’être l’opérateur d’une création plastique.

Progressivement les mécanismes circulaires créent une forme de pensée circulaire. Multiverse se veut une réponse à ces constructions circulaires. Un modèle mécanique et réciproque est une construction systématique sur laquelle nous nous reposons souvent. Multiverse a l’ambition d’échapper à ces chemins réciproques de l’imagination. Multiverse y fournit une réponse à l’esthétique imaginaire et rétro-cosmique.

Production: Campo
Dramaturgie: Dries Douibi
Conseils: Matias Daporta
Lumière et son : Bart Huybrechts
Soutien technique : Simon Van den Abeele
Remerciements: Oneka von Schrader, Kunstenwerkplaats Pianofabriek & Vooruit

nl /en/fr