Construction Works — a series of interventions in different settings, 2011

The body of a construction worker possesses serious will power. At least, seriousness is what we attach to work. But it’s not because you work that what you do is relevant.

For a time, I had a soft spot for construction workers and their culture. They’re not only recognizable, they also have a stereotypical way of working, way of communicating and presence. They are craftsmen: the hands-on designers of our space. They are working on the slowly and constantly evolving surroundings. No one objects when they block the road. We always give way to their work, which improves the accessibility of the space. They handle bricks, pipes, machines and heavy gear. We take them seriously. Their uniforms and way of working emphasizes the importance of their undertaking.

I’ve always asked myself what their work consists of. We only see them “in passing”. Maybe there are days when they need the whole morning to find the right hammer, or there is a week that they’re waiting for a delivery of bricks, and they’re technically jobless on site.

I find it fascinating that we connect the presence and appearance of a person to construction work. I ask myself whether society, which is constantly being built and interrupted due to construction work, exists because there is a necessity for urban planning or because there are hands that need to be put to work. There dominates a work culture that demolishes as much as it builds. As long as all able bodies stay active. Construction also means deconstruction, but this deconstruction is not connected to the meaning of the word “labour” because the work itself is only constructive. The self-assured urge to create seems to be the only expression of future-oriented acts.

For me, cement is a metaphor for the hardness by which the space is taken up, how it’s occupied and demarcated. The surfaces that we are on, and the walls between which we have thoughts, are made of a hard, indestructible material. Only authorized personnel, construction workers, can again destroy it. Between the earth and our feet is, in most cases, a concrete layer.

In different phases of my work, I have tried to construct through deconstruction. Construction is always the deconstruction of something else. No matter how inventive, necessary, redeeming, or masterfully thought out a plan or construction work may be, it will change our experience on site for good.

#1 City of bikes

A performance with two tourists from Amsterdam (the most liberal city in the world (first hit on Google)) on rented bikes, fibreboard, a circular saw and a bucket of water.

#2 Roger

A performance where the image of the construction worker is questioned. Inspired by the hit show, “Fix it up with Roger”, we set up a competition between a professional plasterer and a do-it-yourselfer. An interpretation of the image of labour next to the accomplished pose of industriousness.

#3 Concrete Human Need!

A performance with Clara Saito. In a Dutch afterlife, a romance blossoms between a confident construction worker and a blonde woman. A musical rendezvous where a concrete mixer sets the tempo. Their coming-together is immortalised in the ultimate way, poured in concrete.

nl /en/fr

Construction Works — série d’interventions, 2011

Le corps d’un ouvrier du bâtiment possède une volonté sérieuse. Du moins, le sérieux est ce que nous rattachons au travail. Mais ce n’est pas parce qu’on travaille que ce qu’on fait est pertinent.

Pendant un certain temps j’ai eu un faible pour les travailleurs de la construction et leur culture. Ils sont non seulement reconnaissables, mais ils ont aussi une manière de travailler, une manière de communiquer et une présence stéréotypées. Ce sont des artisans: les concepteurs de nos espaces. Ils travaillent sur un environnement en lente mais constante évolution. Personne ne s’oppose à eux quand ils bloquent la route. Nous cédons toujours à leur travail qui améliore l’accessibilité à l’espace. Ils manipulent des briques, des tuyaux, des machines et des engins lourds. Nous les prenons au sérieux. Leurs uniformes et leur façon de travailler soulignent l’importance de leur entreprise.

Je me suis toujours demandé en quoi consiste leur travail. Nous ne les voyons qu’en « passant ». Peut-être y a-t-il des jours où ils ont besoin de toute la matinée pour trouver le bon marteau, ou y a-t-il des semaines entières où ils attendent une livraison de briques, et ils sont alors au chômage technique sur place.

Je trouve fascinant que nous reliions la présence et l’apparence d’une personne à un travail de construction. Je me demande si la société, qui est constamment construite et interrompue en raison de travaux de construction, existe parce qu’il y a une nécessité de planification urbanistique ou alors parce qu’il y a des mains qui doivent être mises au travail. Y domine une culture du travail qui démolit autant qu’elle construit. Tant que tous les corps capables restent actifs. La construction signifie aussi la déconstruction, mais cette déconstruction n’est pas liée à la signification du mot «travail» parce que le travail lui-même n’est que constructif. L’irrépressible envie de créer, dans toute sa confiance, semble être la seule expression d’actes orientés vers l’avenir.

Pour moi, le ciment est une métaphore de la dureté avec laquelle l’espace est investi, comment il est occupé et délimité. Les surfaces sur lesquelles nous sommes et les murs entre lesquels nous avons des pensées sont faits d’un matériau dur, indestructible. Seul le personnel autorisé, les travailleurs de la construction, peuvent à nouveau le détruire. Entre la terre et nos pieds se trouve, dans la plupart des cas, une couche de béton.

Dans différentes phases de mon travail, j’ai essayé de construire à travers la déconstruction. La construction est toujours la déconstruction de quelque chose d’autre. Peu importe à quel point un plan ou un travail de construction peut être inventif, nécessaire, rédempteur ou maîtrisé, il changera à jamais notre expérience sur le site.

#1 City of bikes

Une performance avec deux touristes d’Amsterdam (la ville la plus libérale du monde (première occurrence sur Google)) avec des vélos loués, des panneaux de fibres, une scie circulaire et un seau d’eau.

#2 Roger

Une performance où l’image de l’ouvrier est remise en question. Inspiré par le show à succès « Fix it up with Roger », nous avons mis en place une compétition entre un plâtrier professionnel et un bricoleur. Une interprétation de l’image du travail à côté de la posture accomplie de l’assiduité.

#3 Concrete Human Need!

Une performance avec Clara Saito. Dans une vie après la mort hollandaise, une romance fleurit entre un confiant travailleur de la construction et une femme blonde. Un rendez-vous musical où un bétonneur fixe le tempo. Leur rencontre est immortalisée de la manière ultime, coulée dans le béton.

nl /en/fr